Please be quiet Sarah Palin

So I’ve been trying really hard to stay out of politics.  After all, after working in government for so many years the whole point – or at least one of the points – in retiring was to get away from politics and politicians.  I woke up this morning ready for another day, about to sit down and write about not getting out of my pyjamas at all yesterday (I’ll do that another time) and, as usual, began my day palinwith a lovely morning greeting from my sweeetie when he brought me toast and coffee and … the newspaper.  I’m happily reading along and then I see it.  Sarah Palin slams me.  “Bored, anonymous, pathetic bloggers who lie annoy me….” she said to a reporter from Esquire.  Hold on there just a minute Sarah Palin!  I’m not going to sit here quietly, though, and let this vitriolic attack on bloggers go unchallenged.  No siree.  You betcha … not! 

Mostly, dear readers, in this blog I’m looking for advice.  Have you experienced similar things in retirement?  How have you met some of the challenges?  What’s the best day you’ve had since retiring?  You know, those sorts of things, and I’m soooooo glad that you sometiimes (a little more often would be nice) send along your comments.  Today, I’m switching gears and I’m going to give Sarah Palin some advice.  Here goes.

Dear Sarah,

I remained relatively calm throughout your ludicrous run for VP. Clearly not having even the basic qualifications that ought to be required for such a position – such as intelligence and knowledge for example – I sat through listening to you not know that Africa was a continent and announcing (with some sort of twisted anti-intellectual pride) that you didn’t actually read anything. I did my best to absorb your thinly-veiled bigoted remarks and lumpen thinking without doing any damage to my own grey matter. I tried not to blow a gasket about what “the boys” choosing you – an obtuse, purblind woman touted as someone who could get the women’s vote. Sure, you got some women’s votes; even within our gender there are some who will vote on the gynaecological imperative I suppose. Okay, I got through it. We all did thankfully. Until today I didn’t think that I needed to tell you what I thought, but this slam really takes the cake.

Bored, anonymous, pathetic bloggers who lie! Spare me this vitriolic gobledygook. I am not bored other than with hearing discussions about whether or not you are actually Trig’s mother. Truly, who cares other than your husband (who, I note, hasn’t been questioned about whether or not he’s the father although I guess that’s implied in the first accusation). Sarah, I don’t care. Anonymous when I’m out here on the web sharing my struggles? Pathetic? Helen Keller said that “the most pathetic person in the world is the one who has sight but no vision”. So, Sarah, who’s the pathetic one? As for telling lies, did your mother not teach you the maxim about the pot not calling the kettle black?

Please go away. I’m sure that there are lots of animals just waiting for you to shoot them (my apologies to the caribou). I’m pot-calling-the-kettle-black1sure there are Alaskans who you’ve not yet figured out how to manipulate. There are laws to be twisted and pressures to be placed. Please … focus on the needs of Alaska and of your family (with my apologies to many Alaskans I’m sure) and just go away. There are real concerns in the world; your ego isn’t among them. As Oprah Winfrey said: “You are responsible for your life. You can’t keep blaming somebody else for your dysfunction. Life is really about moving on. ” Sarah – move on … please.

Well, that’s my rant for the morning folks.  Thanks for giving me a place to vent.  Nice that retirement gives me time to respond.  Another bonus.

SEE YOU ALL TOMORROW (FIVE DAYS BEFORE INAUGURATION DAY!) WHEN I’LL BE BACK TO SHARING THE ONGOING SAGA OF MY RETIREMENT … WITH SOME STARTLING NEWS.

3 responses to “Please be quiet Sarah Palin

  1. Sylvia,

    YES! I’m so tired of hearing her pathetic complaints, and her whining that Katie Couric was asking trick questions. Of course, if she runs for Pres in 2012, that would be a slam-dunk for the Dems!

  2. Syl

    It’s so nice to have my total “awe” and “disbelief” about America’s fascination with Sarah shared by others. She just doesn’t go away, but we can take continued solace in the fact that America saw through her. I love Tina Fey!!!

    I do, however, think she will continue to fade from view. Having lived in the U.S. for several of my adult years (though happily now back in Canada) – I have met many, many people in the U.S. who “get it” – and she will, I’m sure, continue to be a political joke. The only sad part is how she so disappointed all feminist women as the first woman U.S. vice-presidential nominee who actually made it onto the ballot.

    Let’s not give her more credit than she’s due.

    S.

  3. Here is a great blog that may interest you, and today’s post is a gem: http://margaretandhelen.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

